Hallelujah indeed

Not too long ago, my mother-in-law came to visit and brought us a few family goodies.  One of them was a set of two grapefruit spoons.  I have to say, I love grapefruit.  I just hate how much time and effort it takes to cut one side of the fruit, and then how short of a time period it takes me to then eat it.  It is, by far, significantly shorter than how long it takes to prepare!  And this always makes me sad because it’s so darn delicious!  Well, with these fancy grapefruit spoons, I no longer need to do all that cutting! (Cue Handel’s Messiah)

IMG_25731

Made by the same company that made the Greylock demitasse spoon, this silverplate grapefruit spoon has a different makers mark, indicating a different date of manufacture.

IMG_25701

The Oxford pattern seen on the handle pinpoints the date of manufacture to 1901.

Oxford pattern, 1901.

Oxford pattern, 1901.

Because Rogers was absorbed into the International Silver Company in 1898, this may be one of the reasons behind the different makers mark on the back of the handle.

Despite the heavy scroll-work, there is some evidence of early Art Nouveau where the base of the spoon and the handle meet, just like with the demitasse spoon.

IMG_25681

 

I’m not exactly sure if grapefruit spoons needed constant sharpening to keep the slice consistent, but it does look as if this one has been sharpened at some point after manufacture.

 

If I could, I would zoom in closer, but my camera isn't the best at that macro level.

If I could, I would zoom in closer, but my camera isn’t the best at that macro level.

You can tell by the indentation in the silverplate where the bowl meets the edge of the spoon.  It slopes downward at a different angle than the bowl.  Additionally, you can almost see the wear of where the sharpening tool was used: it’s slightly shinier than the bowl and the grain flows in a different direction.  It’s still extremely sharp, too.  Better to spoon out that grapefruit, I guess!

I honestly have never seen a grapefruit spoon as amazing as this.  My parents have one that looks almost like a spork, but with smaller jagged edges than a traditional spork.  And then my parents only had one…so I was usually left to laboring over exact cuts, while my dad reaped the little benefits of the spoon.  But to be honest, I think it was just easier to use a sharp knife before using the spoon, as it was still pretty difficult to use.  I have to say though, I like mine better!

1 Comment

Filed under 1900s, Silver

One response to “Hallelujah indeed

  1. The spoons are lovely — and yes, they make a big difference.
    I used to have some [heaven knows what happened to them]. They “weren’t much” being who knew how old, with bamboo handles. But they had tiny teeth at the end of the spoon, rather than a point. That part was a perfect design. Miss those silly spoons! 🙂

Leave a Reply

