Top 10 Posts of 2013

Today and tomorrow, I’ve decided to highlight my top 10 favorite posts of the past year.  This is a bit hard for me, since I had a total of 120 posts in just 6 months!  I absolutely love all of the posts I’ve done, but some stick out more than others.  If you click on the photos, it’ll take you to the original post to learn more about them!

Number 10

I have a ton of antiquated books in my collection, but I absolutely love this one for all of its gilding.  Plus, Wordsworth is an amazing poet!

book 1

Golden Romanticism

 

Number 9

This hunk of steel is pretty much indestructible.  It’s a constant reminder to me of how items were made to last (unlike today!)

tilted

Underwood Standard No. 5

 

Number 8

The mysteriousness of this postcard still gets me.

backside

Fancy Backsides

 

Number 7

These Art Nouveau inspired demitasse spoons still remind me of Edwardian high society!

Art Nouveau handle

A Spoonful of Sugar

Number 6

This photograph has left a huge impression on me.  It pictures a happy time for Virginia Burton Graham, but her life doesn’t really end so happy.

dress detail

High School Graduation, 1915

 

Check back tomorrow for the conclusion of my top 10 favorite posts of 2013!

5 Comments

Filed under 1880s, 1910s

5 responses to “Top 10 Posts of 2013

  1. Zedwebb

    It will be interesting to see the top five. I guess we all have our favorites.

  2. Good idea. I missed the one with the typewriter — I’ll have to check it out.

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2013- Continued | Blue Ridge Vintage

  4. Who *was* Virginia Burton Graham and should I be ashamed not knowing?

    • Nope! You shouldn’t be ashamed 🙂 She’s not famous-just an ordinary girl who’s photo I found. She was a girl who lived in Wytheville, Virginia, who succumbed to the 1918 influenza at the age of 21, while the rest of her family survived.

Leave a Reply

