Here’s Hoping for a White Christmas

Tomorrow’s Christmas Eve for all those who celebrate that tradition, and I can’t help but dream of a White Christmas.  Bing Crosby and Marjorie Reynolds say it so perfectly in this clip from Holiday Inn, released in 1942.  It’s one of mine and my dad’s favorite Christmas movies!

But I digress.  Today’s Hinke illustration is actually a woodcut, portraying bundled individuals meeting a horse drawn carriage.  I particularly love the little kid in the left foreground pulling the sleigh with a present on it.

white xmas

Thank you again to my good friend Mary for letting me use her beautiful magazine illustrations!

4 Comments

Filed under 1940s

4 responses to “Here’s Hoping for a White Christmas

  1. Ummm… as long as the “white” is sand! 🙂
    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  2. Jess A

    *swoon* I love Bing’s voice – this classic always played in my house growing up!

Leave a Reply

