Santa’s Checking His List

I’m going to be taking the next few days easy, since it’s the Christmas holiday, of that which I celebrate.  Plus, I’m currently working in retail, with crazy hours.  But, don’t worry, I will be posting several images of George Hinke’s illustrations, from an Ideals Christmas Magazine.  Hinke illustrated for Ideals between 1944 and 1953.  I’ll be highlighting a different illustration each day (Thursday I’ll jump back to Clarese and Chuck).

George Hinke's 'The Office of Santa Claus'

George Hinke’s ‘The Office of Santa Claus’

Today’s is titled: ‘The Office of Santa Claus.’  Written on the back of the print:

Making a last-minute check of all the little boys and girls, as well as those who were not quite as good as they could have been, is Mrs. Santa Claus, the best helper Santa has in his office.

Thank you to my good friend Mary for letting me use her beautiful magazine illustrations!

2 Comments

Filed under 1940s

2 responses to “Santa’s Checking His List

  1. You deserve a break Ashley! 🙂
    I think blogging is much more work than non-bloggers realize (even non-blogger writers), and your blog is always well crafted.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours,
    teagan

    PS — I’ve started the next incarnation of “Three Things” — this time it is the “Three Ingredients Serial.” Drop by when you get a chance.
    http://teagansbooks.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/three-ingredients-serial-1-geoduck-cilantro-red-wine/

    • Haha! Thanks, Teagan 🙂 One of these days, maybe I’ll get a break! I’ll def stop by for Three Things, perhaps I’ll even participate this time…Merry Christmas to you, too!

Leave a Reply

