Liebster Award

Guess what?  I’ve been nominated by Teagan over at Teagan’s Books for the Liebster Award!  What is this Liebster Award you may ask?  In the words of Teagan, it’s ‘a big internet hug!’  I’m so excited to receive this award, since I’ve only been blogging since July! So ecstatic!

liebster

‘Liebster’ means favorite in German, and I’m quite honored by being one of Teagan’s favorite blogs!

So, as a part of the rules of this award, I need to answer the questions given to me by Teagan (and she was nice and didn’t do the requisite 11 I’ve seen elsewhere), and then nominate other bloggers

Here are Teagan’s questions for me:

1. If you could go anywhere for as long as you wished, where would you go?

This is a tough question for me.  I absolutely LOVE traveling, and feel more at home outside my comfort zone, immersing myself in another culture.  England will always be my home away from home, but I want to travel the world!  Cambodia, Africa, Spain, Denmark, Switzerland are all on my list of countries I want to visit, but have yet to.  I would love to go back to New Zealand, Scotland, and Ireland (the people are so nice, and the landscapes are beautiful!)  But that doesn’t really answer your question.  So, after I’ve taken a simple question and turned into something super complicated, I’ll have to say England.  I love the culture, the accents, the cities, the countryside, the food, and all my lovely friends there.  Plus, it’s so easy to hop the channel and travel the continent.  If I could live there, I would.

2. Have you become what you wanted to be when you grew up?

Yes and no.  I wanted to be an archaeologist.  I went to college for archaeology, and then realized that a majority of the profession is shovel-bumming, living out of a hotel.  I wasn’t quite ready to get a PhD, so my focus gradually morphed into collections work for museums.  In a sense, I am doing that, but on a volunteer basis only. This blog is my outlet for collections curation.

3. If you could say one sentence that the whole world would hear, what would you say?

Don’t be afraid to live in the moment.  I was trying to think of something to do with love, and kindness, and these sorts of things, but I think people focus too much on the future (which is not a bad thing), but they get so uptight about where they need to be in x number of years, that they forget about the present and what’s happening right now.

4. What is your definition of success?

My definition of success is being happy with what you’ve accomplished, whether it be in a job, in raising kids, in making memories, or as simple as loving an animal.  I feel I’m successful if I am as kind and as happy as possible to every person I meet.  It may not rub off, but  I would rather be remembered for my personality and little acts of kindness than how much money I had.

I don’t follow too many bloggers, and there’s even fewer I actually keep up with on a daily basis, so getting three under 200 followers was very difficult!  I’ve added one other, just because she’s right over that 200 mark…

Here are my nominees:

Katie at Will Wally Wonder: http://willwallywonder.wordpress.com/

Rapheal at A Journey of Wonders: http://journeywonders.com/

Rog at Market Lavington Museum: http://marketlavingtonmuseum.wordpress.com/

Emilia at Emilia Lives Life: http://emilialiveslife.wordpress.com/

My questions for my nominees:

1.  If you could collect one thing, what would it be?  (I collect old books, as an example.)

2. If you could go back to any time period and relive your life there, what years would you choose?

3. What’s your favorite Disney movie, and why?

4. What’s at the very top of your bucket list at the moment?

5. If you could live anywhere in the world, nothing to hold you back, where would you live?

6. Favorite place you’ve visited?

7. Favorite old/antique item in your house/parents house? Why is it your favorite?

8. Who’s your favorite author, and if it’s different, what’s your favorite book?

And thank you again, Teagan!  😀

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Liebster Award

  1. You are most welcome, Ashley. Thanks for so graciously accepting this award. I loved your answer about kindness and can see how it is a part of who you are. 🙂

    I look forward to reading the blogs you nominated.
    teagan

Leave a Reply

