AAUW Book Sale

Starting today, and running through Sunday, is the Roanoke chapter of the American Association of University Women’s (AAUW) annual used book sale.  I’m excited.  This is where I get most of my books, both vintage and contemporary.  But for once in my life, I have come to the decision not to just buy for the sake of having.  I don’t have enough bookshelves as it is, and I’m sure my husband abhors the prospect of having to move these in the future!

My home library.  I also have a small bookshelf in the hall, a small bookshelf in the living room, and a small set of books in my bedroom.

My home library. I also have a small bookshelf in the hall, a small bookshelf in the living room, and a small set of books in my bedroom-so many books!

 

I’m a firm believer in the following quote by Mark Twain: “In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.”   And this is why I have so many books.  I stare at the spines, run my fingers over them, and reminisce over my favorites.  As Thomas Jefferson once said, “I cannot live without books!”

If you’re in the Roanoke area, you should check out AAUW’s sale this weekend.  Books are priced extremely low, and they have books on almost any subject you can think of.  Plus all the proceeds go to a great cause: providing local women with the opportunity to attend college, when otherwise they would not be able to.  The sale runs Friday and Saturday from 10am-9pm and Sunday from 1pm to 6pm (They usually have a bag sale Sunday after 4-get as many books as you can in a bag for $7 or so).    Happy book hunting!

1 Comment

September 6, 2013 · 8:00 am

One response to “AAUW Book Sale

  1. Pingback: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland | Blue Ridge Vintage

Leave a Reply

