The everyday dribble of April 1946

In most of her letters, Clarese rushes through topics like a shopper rushing through stores on Black Friday.  While many of you may not find her everyday dribble fascinating, or even remotely interesting, it builds a world to which we can place Chuck and Clarese in.  And while I don’t have Chuck’s letters to Clarese, she often hints to comments he makes in his letters to her.  So while you may be bored to tears, just hold tight.  The everyday dribble seen in these letters is now a passing folly in our world, especially since today there’s so much to stimulate our minds and senses, things that definitely weren’t around in 1946.

 

April 5

Friday Morn

Dearest Chuck-

I guess apologizing does no good, but I’m sorry I haven’t written.  I really haven’t had a chance and you know how that goes.

Last nite was my last nite on relief.  Today is my long day and then I get to go to the lake.  Just think having last hours for 10 whole days.  I shall write then, you wait and see my dolly.

This week of relief has really been rugged.  It’s been so long since I’ve gone with a Dr. and then to be in charge too.  Guess you know that’s the only time I’ve ever been in charge.  The last four days.  Do hope I left a good record.

Golly, nite before last it was, I worked from 3 in the afternoon and then till 3 in the morning.  I put in a rugged shift and then at 10:30 I had to take a patient to surgery.  That wasn’t enough.  I had to wait for him to come back and then sit with him till he woke up.  Which was about three.  He was in an emergency operation.  Ruptured appendix.

You know Jenny is nite nurse on third now and she had brought some stationary over with her so I was sitting down to write a letter to you and the supervisor came in and made me throw it away, and I had one whole page written.

Last nite we had an emergency surgery at 5:30 and about that time 4 various doctor’s came in and wanted to do such things as start IVs and catheters.  Say.  I had to even miss supper last nite.  That has happened twice this week.  You suppose at that rate that I’d lose weight but as yet I haven’t.  Still weigh 125.  One of the girls on duty the other nite said I sure didn’t look it.  She thought I was quite slim.  Now, I don’t believe her, but it did make me feel good.

Say Dolly, after you finish your Civics, Economics, and English will you be finished with your high school work?  I’m so proud of you that you’re going back to school.  What do your folks say now?  I’m so awfully glad things are running smooth.  I was awfully frightened there for a while.  Do send a wee bit of my love to your folks and tell the girls to write.  Dolly, have your folks said very much about me?  ‘Spect they don’t.  Say you’re not going to forget to send me those snapshots I asked for long ago.  Speaking of weight, which I was not long ago, why don’t you step on a scale again some time and see if you’re losing any weight?  You know I wouldn’t like it if you got much fatter.  I suppose you think the same of me tho.  All right.  I’ll reduce if you will.

Golly, I was really worried this morning when I got up.  It was real cloudy and raining.  And I put up my hair last nite.  Wanted to go down town and do some shopping.  Darned if I wanted my hair to come down.  But that was early this morning.  It’s now 11:30 and the clouds are breaking up and the sun is shining.  I’m so glad.  You know Laura is in charge on third days so she has last hours every day we’re going to the show today-I mean tonight.

You know mom called up the house mother yesterday to see if she had seen me and wanted to know if I was still alive.  I haven’t called or seen her for over a week.  I have your last letter down here but I shall reread it this noon.

Like you do-I always read your letters numerous times.  I’m sure you love me deeply, Chuck, but I still won’t say for sure.  I would not want to hurt you, but yet I can’t see how I could help but love you.  I dream at nite about us, the home we’ll have. How if that isn’t rather prophesying –I’m almost sure the next time I’ll see you that that will settle everything.  Ah I do miss you so.  It seems so long since you’ve gone.  Remember the two weeks you were in McCall?  I thought they would never come to an end.  I missed you so then.

Jenny and I have been sitting here talking.  I gather Wes has a habit of flipping her bra straps.  Oh you bad men!! (This last sentence is written in a different color in and a different hand.  Perhaps this is Jenny?)

Guess I shouldn’t have written that.  She’s sitting her beside me.  Now you quit flipping my supporters.  Golly, I’m getting off the blame now.  Guess it’s too close to dinner.  Today being Friday is fish and pie day.  Wonder if the old lady gets tired of us writing in class?  I don’t care.  Say I got a list of all my final grades in the subjects we’ve finished a couple of days ago.  It all averages up to an 93. Is that satisfactory, darling, or should I get in and dig?  All right, I’ll try to do better.  So look for me in the hospitals back there, huh!  Well just possibly when I get out of training and have my R.N. I shall come back there and work.  Then you shall see me when you look.  If the next two years go as fast as the last couple-time will really fly.  Beginning next month we shall get twenty dollars a month.  I should be able to have a good vacation if I get in and save.

So we’ll see each other on my vacation, huh!  Well darling, are you going to let Lewis run the business and you come see me or what?  I know somehow we’ll get together.  Mom has a strong feeling Charles will let us have his car and we’ll go see Nina.  Want to come along?

Dolly, class is out now and I’m dressed and ready to go down town.  We’ll do some shopping, I hope.

Sending you all my love

Clarese

1 Comment

Filed under 1940s, Letters

One response to “The everyday dribble of April 1946

  1. Pingback: That Really Cooked His Goose | Blue Ridge Vintage

Leave a Reply

