20th Century Curls

I have curly hair, and have yet to learn to love it.  I still don’t even know how to style it correctly. So, when I saw this postcard in Paper Memories, a small ephemera shop in Roanoke, I knew I had to buy it as a constant reminder to myself that all the girls in the 19th and early 20th century wanted curly hair.  Plus, the photograph is cute, along with the annoying upside down message on the verso.  Based on the stamp, it dates between 1905 and 1911.  Looking at the clothing in the photograph, the postcard dates to around 1909.  Great Britain’s own Edward VII (reigned from 1901-1910) is featured on the stamp.

2 Comments

Filed under 1900s, Letters, Photograph

2 responses to “20th Century Curls

  1. Jess A

    For years people have been wanting curls! I’m going to say that in Western society, the straight hair trend is definitely a more recent thing. I say, rock your curls and own them! Check out the Curly Girl Method for managing your lovely locks – I deal with it on my blog but there are also tons of resources out there just from Googling it. Also, this postcard is rather awesome…a rare find. The history student in me is swooning.

    • Thanks, Jess! I’m always looking for tips on how to tame my crazy hair! I will definitely check out the Curly Girl Method! And I completely agree with straight hair being a more recent Western attraction. And I’m glad you like the postcard! Sorting through boxes upon boxes of postcards has its advantages sometimes!

Leave a Reply

